Senior Home Heating Subsidy FAQs

Does the Senior Home Heating Subsidy pay for all my heating costs? 

The Senior Home Heating Subsidy exists to assist low-to-modest income seniors with their heating costs, but each senior will need to budget for their own heating costs. Any heating costs above the maximum benefit amount will need to be paid by the senior. Seniors will be responsible for any heating costs outside of the subsidy period.

I received the Senior Home Heating Subsidy last year, do I need to apply again? 

Yes, seniors are required to apply each year for the Senior Home Heating Subsidy. You can find more information here.

Where will the money for the Senior Home Heating Subsidy go? 

Direct payments will be made to the seniors’ heating supplier(s). 

I missed applying before September, can I get the subsidy retroactively?

Seniors can apply for the subsidy at any time. If they are approved after the start of the subsidy period, the subsidy will be provided to the fuel supplier retroactively or the senior can request to be reimbursed for invoices already paid.

How much assistance could I qualify for? 

Eligible seniors will receive benefits based on the zone in which they live. For 2023-2024 seniors in the following zones will qualify for:

  • Zone 1: $375 per month, up to a maximum of $3,000 total
  • Zone 2: $500 per month, up to a maximum of $4,000 total
  • Zone 3: $575 per month, up to a maximum of $4,600 total

If a senior does not use the full subsidy in a month, the unused portion will be carried over to the following month.

Can I get the Senior Home Heating Subsidy if I make more than the income threshold for my zone? 

No, the Senior Home Heating Subsidy is for low-to-modest income seniors. If your income is above the income threshold you will not be eligible for the subsidy. The income thresholds are based on the zone in which you live and are listed below:

  • Zone 1: $56,000 or below
  • Zone 2: $64,000 or below
  • Zone 3: $73,000 or below 

What communities are in each zone? 

Zone 1 includes: Behchokǫ̀, Dettah, Enterprise, Fort Providence, Fort Simpson, Fort Smith, Hay River, K’atl’odeeche, Kakisa, Ndılǫ and Yellowknife.

Zone 2 includes: Fort Liard, Fort Resolution, Gamètì, Inuvik, Jean Marie River, Nahanni Butte, Whatı̀ and Wrigley.

Zone 3 includes: Aklavik, Colville Lake, Délį̀ne, Fort McPherson, Fort Good Hope, Łutselk’e, Norman Wells, Paulatuk, Saamba K’e, Sachs Harbour, Tsiigehtchic, Tuktoyaktuk, Tulita, Ulukhaktok and Wekweètì