Social Assistance Appeal Committees


The Department of Education, Culture and Employment (ECE) is looking individuals to join its regional Social Assistance Appeal Committees for four-year terms.

There are six regional Committees in the Northwest Territories (NWT). The Committees hear appeals from applicants that do not agree with a decision made in response to their application for Income Assistance or Senior Home Heating Subsidy programs. 

The Committees operate under the authority of the Social Assistance Act and are responsible for ensuring that the related regulations and policies have been applied correctly and may affirm, reverse, or vary a decision made by an Officer.

Current vacancies:

  • North Slave Region
  • Sahtu Region
  • Tłı̨chǫ Region


Applications are currently being accepted.


Applications will be accepted until all vacancies have been filled.

How to apply

Submit your resume and a one-page letter of interest to:

  • Email:
  • Fax: 867-874-2361
  • Mail: Registrar of Appeals, Appeals Office – ECE Programs and Services, P.O. Box 4215, Hay River, NT X0E 1G5

Your application may be used in filling future vacancies.

Contact us

For questions about applying for the Social Assistance Appeal Committees email or phone 867-874-2359/1-855-546-1232 (toll free).