Official Languages Annual Reports

The GNWT works with all official languages communities and leadership to address issues affecting languages and cultures in the NWT. 

Through the NWT Official Languages Act, the NWT recognizes not only English and French, but is unique among Canadian jurisdictions in honouring and providing provisions for the language-speaking communities of the Dene, Métis, Inuvialuit, and Cree First Peoples of the North: Chipewyan (Dëne Sųłıné Yatıé), Cree (nēhiyawēwin), Gwich’in, Inuinnaqtun, Inuktitut, Inuvialuktun, North Slavey (Sahtúǫt’ı̨ne Kedé), South Slavey (Dene Zhatıé) and Tłı̨chǫ (Tłı̨chǫ Yatıı̀).

Each year an Official Languages review is conducted, and a report issued to demonstrate the progress that the GNWT has made towards language promotion and development, offer and delivery of language programs and services across the NWT.