Education Hall of Fame

The Honourable Caroline Cochrane, Minister of Education,Culture and Employment, invites the public to attend the 2018 NWT Education Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony.

When: Thursday, May 31st, 11:00am - 12:00noon

Where: Great Hall of the Legislative Assembly, Yellowknife, NT

The following individuals will be inducted:

  • Bella Kay, Inuvik
  • Chris Gilmour, Inuvik
  • Brian Jaffray, Fort Simpson
  • Lois Lafferty, Fort Smith
  • Jean-Marie Mariez, Yellowknife
  • Gerard Landry, Yellowknife
  • Rosa Mantla, Behchokǫ̀

    Education Hall of Fame Overview

    The Department of Education, Culture and Employment launched the Education Hall of Fame in 2010 to recognize that we all play an important role in supporting the education of our children. It reflects the valuable contributions that people make as educators, Elders, administrators, volunteers, coaches, students, advocates, sponsors and businesses.

    It provides lasting recognition and gratitude towards those who have provided exemplary service, or made a lasting impression to the field of education in the Northwest Territories.

    Eligible recipients must be a current resident of the NWT, or must have been a resident for more than 15 years if currently residing outside the territory. They must have made a significant, long-term contribution to education and must be independently motivated by a genuine desire to make a difference.

    In 2010, fifteen (15) recipients were inducted from across the territory. Since then, one individual or group from each region is inducted annually. One Minister's Choice Award recipient is also inducted.

    Nominations are accepted from any resident of the Northwest Territories, and the successful nominees are selected by a comittee comprised of a representative from the Department of ECE, the Northwest Territories Teachers' Association (NWTTA) and the School Superintendents. The Committee is chaired by ECE's Deputy Minister.

    For full details on eligible recipients and nomination process, download our nomination form, fill it in, save it and then email it to

    Education Hall of Fame Nomination Form

    Education Hall of Fame Inductees

    Congratulations to the 2017 Inductees: 

    • Allan McDonald
    • Annie Felix
    • Chuck Lirette
    • Dave Roebuck
    • Denise Bowen
    • Merril Dean
    • Shane Brewster
    • Teresa Jaffray

    2016 Inductees: 

    • Sarah Jerome, Beaufort Delta 
    • Valerie Gendron, Dehcho 
    • Vivian Pellissey, Sahtu 
    • Jane Dragon, South Slave
    • Jim Martin, Tłįchǫ
    • Rita Mueller, North Slave 
    • Muriel Tolley, Minister’s Choice Award

    2015 Inductees: 

    • Lea Lamoureux, Significant contribution to attendance initiatives in schools
    • Ted Blondin, Significant contribution to student learning by an Elder
    • Doris Camsell, Significant contribution to traditional learning, language and culture in schools
    • Dean MacInnis, Significant contribution to safe and caring environments for students
    • Reanna Erasmus, Significant contribution to early childhood program support and inclusive education
    • Bruce Green, Significant contribution to innovative approaches to teaching and learning
    • Marja Van Nieuwenhuyzen, Significant contribution to excellence in teaching and supporting numeracy
    • Carole Bachand, Significant contribution to excellence in teaching and supporting literacy
    • Michel Louis Rabesca, Minister’s choice

    2014 Inductees:

    • Lorna Storr, Beaufort Delta 
    • Martina Norwegian, Dehcho 
    • Liz Baile, North Slave 
    • Celine Marlowe, South Slave 
    • George Cleary, Sahtu
    • Valerie Nevile Carter, Minister's Choice Award

    2013 Inductees: 

    • Andy Norwegian, Dehcho 
    • Beverly Masuzumi, Sahtu
    • Bill Gilday, North Slave
    • Janie Jones, Beaufort Delta
    • Jill Taylor, South Slave
    • Mary Adele Flunkie, Tłįchǫ
    • Anne-Mieke Cameron, Minister's Choice Award

    2012 Inductees: 

    • Betty Barnaby, Sahtu
    • Chris Baron, Tłįchǫ
    • Angela James, North Slave
    • Helen Kitekudlak, Beaufort Delta
    • Kevin Antoniak, South Slave
    • Margaret Thom, Dehcho
    • Dr. Curtis Brown, Minister's Choice Award

    2011 Inductees: 

    • Dorothy Beaulieu, South Slave
    • Ed Jeske, North Slave
    • Ethel Blondin-Andrew, Shatu
    • Joanne Tetlichi, Beaufort Delta
    • Lucy Lafferty, Tłįchǫ
    • Margaret Field, Dehcho
    • Garth Brasseur, Minister's Choice Award

    2010 Inductees:

    • Elizabeth Mackenzie, Behchoko
    • John Miltenberger, Fort Smith
    • Jerry Ruben, Fort Smith
    • Michael Botermans, Behchoko
    • Toni Harker Auge, Yellowknife
    • Miki O'Kane, Inuvik
    • Chuck Tolley, Yellowknife
    • Irma Miron, Hay River
    • Sylvia Boyer, Hay River
    • Brent Kaulback, Fort Smith
    • Alice Cambridge, Hay River
    • Anne Enge, Yellowknife
    • Cliff King, Inuvik
    • John Carroll, Hay River
    • Margo McLeod, Aklavik