Francophone Affairs Secretariat

Legislative and Policy Framework

Official Languages Overview

French is an Official Language in the Northwest Territories and the Government of the Northwest Territories recognizes the Francophone language community as an important component of Northwest Territories society and contributor to its social, economic and cultural development.

In recognition of this, and that Official Languages have equality of status and equal rights and privileges, the Government of the Northwest Territories has created its Strategic Plan on French Language Communication and Services to guide its departments, boards and agencies in the development, provision and offer of French language services to the Francophone community. Below you will find a link to the Strategic Plan along with other documents or sites which can be used to find more information.



The Canada-NWT Cooperation Agreement for French and Aboriginal Languages in the NWT provides annual funding to the GNWT to meet mutually agreed upon objectives. The funding goes towards providing administrative and policy support to implement and deliver programs and services to the public in French.


Support to the French Community

ECE provided a grant to Radio Taïga under the Community Broadcasting Grant Program. This program is designed to provide funding to help pay for the operating costs of community broadcasting organizations. The Department provides five dollars in grant money for every one dollar raised locally by a community broadcast organization. Radio Taïga is Yellowknife’s French community radio, in operation since 2000.


Consultation with the French community

In 2010-2011, the GNWT and the Fédération franco-ténoise established a Comprehensive Plan Consultation and Co-operation Committee. The mandate of the Committee is to facilitate consultation on the GNWT’s drafting, implementation, administration and promotion of a strategic plan for the provision of French language communications and services under the Official Languages Act of the NWT. The Committee carried out its work in two main phases, namely the Initial Drafting Phase then the Implementation, Administration and Promotion Phase. Two meetings were held during 2010-2011 to start the process of the Initial Phase.  A meeting occurred in September 2014 and the most recent meeting took place in November 2016.


Ministerial Conference on the Canadian Francophonie

The Ministerial Conference on the Canadian Francophonie (MCCF) is an intergovernmental organization created in 1994; it is made up of federal, provincial and territorial ministers responsible for the Canadian Francophonie. The MCCF deal with various issues related to the Canadian francophonie, provides direction for intergovernmental cooperation, and plays a unifying role in support of the country’s francophonie.

The MCCF member ministers meet annually to focus on various subjects related to the Canadian Francophonie and to engage in dialogue aimed at fostering the development of public policies to strengthen the country’s linguistic duality.

First and foremost, the MCCF promotes initiatives that increase and enhance services in French, thus providing a better quality of life for citizens and ensuring the vitality of the French language and Francophone cultures.

The Conference’s regular operations are administered by a network of provincial, territorial and federal public servants called the Intergovernmental Network on the Canadian Francophonie.